nookncranny's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

stands with spunk

i had moved away to california.

i sat in the theater watching, with fascination, an archetype of a good woman, increasingly certain of my similarity to her. she was dignity. she was a noble bride in a healthy union. this was stabbing me in a sick, sore spot in my stomach. i unpacked my tattered tears, flagged them down their familiar route. "why? why doesn't he love me this way?" they chanted.

i howled to the movie. "why can't i have that?!!? i know i could be a good mate if only..."

she turned her head from her movie wedding bed towards me.

"wait a minute" she speared at me. "you just said 'can't have that'. since when was that a forgone conclusion?" i was stunned. i hadn't realized, but there it was. a sneaky assumption patched to my spine.

i stepped out of the theater into gorgeous sunlight. finally, and all at once a future materialized in front of me.

-

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

snoozer
mangotuesday
sls
likeaforest
edithelaine
novembre
jumprope
fireflea
orangepeeler
seethingblue
bethannebee
theshivers
laststop
oh-sweet-pea
southeast
spitfire79
oltremare
snotgirl
lightfallsup