nookncranny's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

quilt

after my first day of classes, i stepped out of the refrigerator cold building. i felt the thick sunshine thaw my fingers back into suppleness.

then on the patio, i finished banana yoshimoto's kitchen.

so soft. so beautiful the way it talked about the slow cave journey through grief. talked in pure honesty about the blackness. the small unexceptional way that one recovers.

it seems like i am turning a page in incorporating the loss of my mother.

like i've let in a waft of life again.

it's taken a year and a half. and i'm sure i will find there are many more layers...

this was coupled with stephanie dosen's song of the morning doves. so poignant. "hush now, don't be sad. i'm your angel now..." i shivered while i cried. my teeth chattered. and i'm pretty sure my angel lifted my chin.

and thirdly was spirited away. last night i told my frightened little turtle man that sometimes we don't realize how much strength we possess. that we have more inside us than we easily feel. that was miyazaki's love letter.

three tender patches that, stitched together, became the warm quilt of tomorrows on my lap.

thankful.

-

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

snoozer
mangotuesday
sls
likeaforest
edithelaine
novembre
jumprope
fireflea
orangepeeler
seethingblue
bethannebee
theshivers
laststop
oh-sweet-pea
southeast
spitfire79
oltremare
snotgirl
lightfallsup