nookncranny's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the grown ups in my neighborhood

i've known i didn't feel truly welcomed, but i couldn't put my finger on it. i just felt tender and sad. i want to play too. it struck me last night how old they act. how they seem to have jumped from young into the stodgy grown up suit.

i once made a pact with myself, chin atop my little knees on the front concrete steps, to never ever completely lose this kid consciousness. i have no plans at all of breaking my promise.

so often then, i am ten as i'm making doctors' appointments, sifting through obligations, pushing carts full of macaroni noodles, creamer and bread crumbs. sometimes all the clothes are too big. i was worried that i might be incompetent; but now i am proud.

-

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

snoozer
mangotuesday
sls
likeaforest
edithelaine
novembre
jumprope
fireflea
orangepeeler
seethingblue
bethannebee
theshivers
laststop
oh-sweet-pea
southeast
spitfire79
oltremare
snotgirl
lightfallsup